Is Quinoa Gluten Free? What You Should Know

If you are eating a gluten-free menu, quinoa is one food that you’ve probably heard mentioned a time or two before. If you ask is quinoa gluten free, the answer is yes, it is and it is one of the foods that more people eat on this special diet. It is easy to find quinoa at the market and worthwhile to add to your diet, whether or not you’re eating GF. Learn more about quinoa below and why it is a good that should be on your menu.

What is Quinoa?

Quinoa is an edible seed, despite oftentimes being categorized as a grain. It originated in Asia and has been around for thousands of years already. Only in recent years has the hype really begun over the seed, however.  It is extremely versatile and flavorless so it can be added to many dishes and prepared with other foods for a tasty combination. Furthermore, people can enjoy the food for breakfast, lunch, or even dinner and can enjoy it as a snack, too. Many people utilize it as a side dish.

Health Benefits of Quinoa

Quinoa is deemed a superfood so when it is a regular part of your menu, expect great things to happen. It is one of the very best foods that you can eat and does so much to improve your health. There are a plethora of health benefits offered to people who eat the food since it is loaded with vitamins, minerals, nutrients, protein, antioxidants, and more.  You will have more energy to do the things that you want to do and will generally feel better when eating this superfood.

is quinoa gluten free

Gluten-Free Menu

Since people who eat a gluten-free menu are limited to the foods they can eat, quinoa is a popular item on the menu. Its versatility helps users create many different healthy meals that are also free of the harmful gluten they cannot consume. It is easy to prepare in about 15 minutes on top of the stove, so that is another benefit for those who hate the idea of spending endless time in the kitchen preparing meals.